IRS and the Small Business Owner

The IRS believed a business owner wasn’t paying proper wages to his help.

An agent was sent to the business to investigate the owner.

IRS AGENT: “I need a list of your employees and how much you pay them”.

Owner: “Well, there’s Clarence, my hired hand. He’s been with me for 3 years. I pay him $200 a week plus free room and board. Then there’s the mentally challenged guy. He works about 18 hours every day and does about 90% of the work around here. He makes about $10 per week, and pays his own room and board. I buy him a bottle of rum and a case of beer every Saturday night so he can cope with life. Also, he gets to sleep with my wife occasionally”.

IRS AGENT: “That’s the guy I want to talk to – the mentally challenged one”.

Owner: “That’ll be me. What’d you want to know?”


Leave a Reply

